License Requirements

Pennsylvania Real Estate License Renewal Credits

All Pennsylvania real estate licensees (salesperson, associate broker, and broker) must renew their license every two years. The current renewal period began June 1, 2018 and ends May 31, 2020. The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission requires all real estate licensees (including brokers and associate brokers) to complete 14 hours of education each renewal period. NOTE: For the current renewal period, the Commission is requiring that 1.5 hours of the required 14 hours must be in the topic of Property Management and 2 hours must be in the topic of Advertising. The other 10.5 hours can be completed in elective topics.  

For most licensees, the required 3.5 hours in Property Management and Advertising plus the 10.5 hours in elective topics approved by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission, will total the necessary 14 hours needed for renewal prior to May 31, 2020. Exceptions are listed below:

  • Recent Licensees - The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission has developed 14 required hours of mandatory continuing education course content for all licensees in their first renewal cycle. This provision affects anyone licensed on or after December 31, 2017. Recent licensees are exempt from the required hours in Property Management and Advertising. View classes offered at MCAR here.

  • New or reactivated Pennsylvania Licensees – INITIAL RENEWAL PERIOD ONLY – If the first license was issued in the last six months of the 18-20 renewal period (December 1, 2019 – May 31, 2020), the licensee does NOT have to complete continuing education. However, the licensee must complete the renewal application and pay the appropriate fees to the Real Estate Commission.

Notice to ALL Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensees: Licenses expire May 31 of every even-numbered year.

For additional information, contact the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission for more information, or reference Guideline regarding Continuing Education.

 

View our Education Requirements
At-A-Glance Chart!

 


 

How does one acquire a Pennsylvania Real Estate License?
A person wishing to acquire a Pennsylvania Real estate License must be at least 18 years of age, have four educational credits in real estate (Real Estate Fundamentals and Real Estate Practice), and have successfully completed the State Licensing Examination. After one has passed the State Licensing Exam, a sponsoring broker is required for issuance of the salesperson's license. Acquiring the educational credits is mandatory before one takes the exam. After one has passed the Exam, one may wait up to three years before activating the license. Failure to do so within three years would mean that the prospective licensee must re-take the Exam.

What are the two basic courses?
The 2 basic courses are Real Estate Fundamentals and Real Estate Practice. Fundamentals provide the student with a basic foundation for additional study and supports the practice of real estate in Pennsylvania. The course is designed to acquaint the student with the language, principles and laws that govern the business of real estate. Practice provides the student with an introduction to all facets of the real estate business, including a survey of fields of specialization. The course is designed to acquaint the student with the basic techniques, procedures, regulations, and ethics involved in a real estate transaction, along with a working knowledge of the forms and documents used, including the related mathematics. Each course is worth two credits. An official school transcript is provided for each course.

Does it matter which course I take first?
It does not matter which of the two courses is taken first. The student may take FUNDAMENTALS first or, instead, take PRACTICE first. A strongly motivated student is the best guarantor of a person’s being well prepared to take and pass the State Licensing Exam. Those seeking to take both courses at the same time should recognize that ample study time must be provided in the student’s schedule.

For more information regarding Pennsylvania State Real Estate Commission approved education providers, click here.

Renewing your License? 

Licenses expire May 31 of every even-numbered year. The Commission emails renewal notices two to three months prior to the license expiration date. Notices are emailed to the most recent email address that was reported to the Commission.

For additional information, contact the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission for more information, or reference Guideline regarding Continuing Education.

Putting your License in Referral or Escrow status?

Please notify MCAR in writing to ensure you and/or your broker are not assessed your REALTOR® membership dues.

If you want to go into referral, MCAR
will need this Limited Function Referral Office (LFRO) Certification Form completed by your broker.

CLICK HERE FOR ONLINE REFERRAL FORM

If you place your license in escrow, MCAR will need a copy of the escrow letter your broker sends to the PA Real Estate Commission.